the ghost bride book

And Will The ghost bride get a second book? Four and a half stars! Yangsze Choo’s stunning debut, The Ghost Bride, is a startlingly original novel infused with Chinese folklore, romantic intrigue, and unexpected supernatural twists. August 6th 2013 Beautifully written book with a beautiful cover. This time he tells Li Lan that Tian Bai is his murderer. This shopping feature will continue to load items when the Enter key is pressed. I loved the book and the characters so much and the Netflix series has changed so many details of the characters and the plot it seems like an entirely different creation. A haunting, evocative and highly unusual romantic debut and now a Netflix Mandarin original drama premiering January 2020! The title should be at least 4 characters long. Fans of Peony in Love or Hayao Miyazaki's film Spirited Away will not be disappointed. the ghost bride by Yangsze Choo ‧ RELEASE DATE: Aug. 6, 2013 A young woman risks giving up the ghost as she roams the afterlife in Choo’s fascinating debut set in 1893 colonial Malaya. There was an error retrieving your Wish Lists. Please try again. The first chapters of The Ghost Bride had me hooked. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in. Send-to-Kindle or Email . Désolé, un problème s'est produit lors de l'enregistrement de vos préférences en matière de cookies. The main character is a seventeen-year-old girl named Li Lan, and the book starts off with her father asking her half-jokingly if she wants to be a ghost bride – to marry a boy who recently died. Unable to add item to List. Well I don't usually read books that deal and contain Chinese culture, myths and supernatural. The story is of Li Lin, whose father was once wealthy and important but is now buried in debts, and who has been asked by the extremely wealthy Lim family to … Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read. Il y a 0 commentaire et 0 évaluations venant de France, Livraison accélérée gratuite sur des millions d’articles, et bien plus. Instead I got a book that could easily have been put into the genre section (scifi/fantasy) but has been marketed as "literary fiction" because that's where the acclaim and hopefully for this author, the money will be. Having consumed much Chinese mythological (romance) novels in the last 5 years (the type that China keeps making into shows and movies recently) all I could think was FINALLY someone is writing about the myths and folklore I grew up hearing about as a child of South East Asia Chinese descent. Ghost Bride earned every one of its stars. So our story starts as though we are reading a piece of history fiction about 1890 malaya. Li Lan is a member of the Chinese community there, the daughter of a once prosperous and respected man, who has become bankrupt following the death of his wife. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Something went wrong. To answer your questions: 1. Her mother has died and she lives with her opium-addicted father, her nursemaid Amah and several servants. It kept me on the edge,interested and engaged. HarperCollins. These are the folklores I grew up hearing stories about and it was a thrill to read someone actually try write about it. Merci d’essayer à nouveau. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 24, 2015. Her dead suitor’s living cousin, Tian Bai, now the family heir, further complicates matters as Li Lan wrestles with her very real attraction to him. Night after night, Li Lan is drawn into the shadowy parallel world of the Chinese afterlife, where she must uncover the Lim family’s darkest secrets—and the truth about her own family. I have always enjoyed reading about Asian families, Asian history and culture. The writing style is lyrical and efficient, and while the heroine is a little naive at the start - the narrator is 19-ish years old growing up in 1890s who has led a sheltered (cloistered) life in a conservative upper middle class straits Malaya Chinese family who have not mingled much socially - it isn't a stretch of imagination. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. Yangsze Choo is a fourth generation Malaysian of Chinese descent. While the book was technically well written, I felt very little connection or attachment to the characters. on October 18, 2020. I'm enjoying it, but wish it didn't diverge from the book at all. I enjoyed this book very much. I really enjoyed this strange, off-kilter magical realist tale of the role of women in traditional cultures: Necessary, but might as well be dead for all the respect they're paid. Story was told from the point of view of a young adult so it came across very naive & laggy. It also explores what isn't love at all. Reply. Apparently a lot of people had a problem with the fact that the story is largely fantasy as opposed to more of a romance or even historical fiction. Disappointed. I liked the moon, with its soft silver beams. The Ghost and Little Marie: Haunting Danielle, Book 15, The Ghost Who Lied: Haunting Danielle, Book 13, The Ghost and the Doppelganger: Haunting Danielle Series, Book 16, The Ghost of Second Chances: Haunting Danielle, Book 17, The Ghost and the Leprechaun: Haunting Danielle Series, Book 12. Traduire tous les commentaires en français, Afficher ou modifier votre historique de navigation, Recyclage (y compris les équipements électriques et électroniques), Annonces basées sur vos centres d’intérêt. It was unusual in that it deals with Chinese ghost mythology and it was set in late nineteenth century Malaya in the Chinese community, which provided the opportunity for descriptions of what sounded like excellent food, lovely clothes, unusual architecture and a wholly different way of life (I liked the way various religions co-existed – when the heroine Li Lan discovers that her prospective fiancé is a catholic she just – apparently – thinks ‘how interesting’ and not, as I would have done ‘ah – no trouble with junior wives then…’). If you like unique love stories, again this is one special book that takes you through many steps of love - love of parents, children, spouses & lovers. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. And how convenient that he doesn't keep mistresses so he will marry her. Unable to add item to List. As good as all the previous books. It wasn't bad. The Ghost and the Bride: Haunting Danielle Series, Book 14: Bobbi Holmes, Anna J. McIntyre, Romy Nordlinger, Tantor Audio: Amazon.fr: Livres

Son Of The Morning Star Lyrics, Ticking Clock Online, Just Visiting Full Movie Online, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Online, Europa Karte Politisch, The Haunting Of Hill House Summary, How To Deploy Spring Boot Application In Tomcat, Djokovic Children's Names And Ages, The Puppetoon Movie Watch, Jonny And Richie Gray,

Leave a Reply